How to Delete Browsing History in Google Chrome?

You might have heard of Yahoo’s ‘forged cookies’ incident where hackers managed to get into Yahoo’s system and stole the proprietary code. They then used the code to forge Yahoo’s cookies, which potentially allowed the hackers to access 32 million users account without a password.

Cookies, formally known as internet cookie, web cookie, or browser cookie are tiny harmless text files stored in your web browser by the web server when you visit a website. Websites use cookies to speed up load time and improve the user experience.

However, cookies also possess a significant threat to your privacy and security if you fail to manage them efficiently.

Besides improving web load time, cookies can track your online activities and store your browsing history along with saved passwords, debit/credit card details, login information, download history, and much more.

Also, there are malware and viruses on the web disguised as cookies that can potentially pass on your activity data along with other sensitive information to hackers. The information passed by cookies can then be used by hackers to steal your hard-earned money, access your social media accounts, plan phishing attacks on you or something even worse.

Therefore, to ensure privacy, it becomes necessary for you to erase not only the browsing history from your web browser but also cookies and cache files every time you close your web browser or shut down the system.

How to Delete Browsing History in Google Chrome

You can delete Google Chrome browser history with help of the following two methods:

1. Google Chrome Browser Settings: Deletes the browsing history, cached files, passwords, autofill form data, download history, and cookies along with other site data that can be recovered with a data recovery software.

2. Data Erasure Software: Erases the browsing history and associated data -beyond recovery -by using a data erasure algorithm, such as DoD 5220-22 M, NATO, etc.

A File erasure software can also automate the data erasure task for confidential files that are stored in selected folders as per a scheduled task such as erase history after shut down or reboot. This helps to safeguard the user privacy with efficiency.

For instance, BitRaser File Eraser (a data erasure software) features 17 data erasure algorithms to scan and destroy browser data – passwords, system/application traces etc. – with a Certificate of guaranteed data erasure and sanitization.

How to erase browsing history in Google Chrome with data erasure software:

  • Download, install and run the BitRaser File Eraser software

erase browsing history

  • Go to ‘Tools’ and select the data erasure algorithm along with the verification method from ‘Verification’ drop down

  • Click ‘Home’ tab and then click ‘Internet Activities.
  • Select the Google Chrome web browser from the list. You may select all installed web browser also by clicking ‘Select All’ checkbox at the bottom
  • Click ‘Erase Now’ button at the bottom left and wait for the software to securely erase your browsing history, saved passwords, cookies, autofill login forms data, card details, etc.
  • Once erasure is done, the software prompts you to reboot the system. Click ‘Yes

You can choose to automate the browsing history erasure task by using the software. It lets you choose when you wish to erase your browsing history based on time and boot status.

To schedule automatic erasure of Google Chrome browser history, follow these steps:

  • Click ‘Schedule’ tab and expand ‘Internet Activities.
  • Select the ‘Google Chrome’ checkbox
  • Under Scheduler, choose ‘Frequency’, enter ‘Date/Time option’, select Show or Hide Mode
  • Finally, under Advance options, select ‘Erasure Algorithm’ and ‘Verification’ method
  • Click ‘Apply’. The auto erasure task for cleaning Google Browser history will be scheduled
  • You can check the if the task is scheduled successfully by clicking ‘Scheduled Tasks’ button

From now, your Google Chrome browser history will be deleted beyond recovery automatically— giving you the best way to safeguard your privacy online and offline.

Further, you don’t need to delete a scheduled task. Instead, you can activate or deactivate a particular task.

Steps to erase browsing history through Google Chrome Settings

  • Open Google Chrome browser and click the three dots at the top left of the browser window
  • Click History>History. Alternatively, you can type chrome://history in the address bar and press ‘Enter’ to open the history page
  • Click ‘Clear browsing data.
  • Click ‘Advanced’ tab and then select data you wish to delete
  • From Time Range drop-down, choose ‘All time.
  • Click ‘Clear data’, and that’s it

Conclusion

While cookies are important for the web to function, it’s more critical for you to sanitize the cookie jar of your web browser more frequently. As malware attacks and malicious websites are becoming increasingly common, it’s high time for you to move from just deleting or clearing your browsing history to permanently erasing it beyond recovery.

By securely erasing your private data such as browsing history, you also improve defence against data breach.

You can use readily available and efficient data erasure software such as BitRaser File Eraser for the purpose. It helps automate data erasure tasks—improving convenience and safeguarding user privacy at the same time.

Comments(2)
  1. Brendan Houston April 2, 2019
    • Aruna Attri April 3, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.